“Because it shouldn’t hurt to be touched.” ― A.L. Jackson, When We Collide

Definition: Allodynia is pain, generally on the skin, caused by something that wouldn’t normally cause pain. Many people with fibromyalgia report having this symptom. Examples of allodynia are pain caused by mild pressure from clothing, a light touch, gentle massage, or sheets rubbing against the skin.
http://chronicfatigue.about.com/od/glossary/g/allodynia.htm

When one thinks about fibromyalgia, one assumes that they know pain. The sad truth is that unless you have it, you have no clue what it is like. I also have high functioning autism and as such, I have so many different painful sensations. All my senses are affected and while sometimes I can counter balance them, the truth of the matter is this: The main problem I have is touch and exhaustion. Just getting dressed sometimes reduces me to tears and even there are times when just taking a shower where the water beating on me causes me severe discomfort. There are times when just going to bed sends me to tears. I wish i could explain to you just how bad this condition is but it is not something that is easily explained. I am going to leave this for now, in the hopes of visiting it later.

Never, ever judge what you do not understand.

Ms. Pengelf

<(“)

 

